Trainspotting

Gerald parks his bicycle by the side while his girlfriend Tamara looks on. In the background Engine Number 4 simmers in the siding at Jaka, awaiting it’s freight cars to be made ready and coupled to the locomotive. “Any moment now,” declares Gerald excitedly who has been trainspotting around Halland since he was old enough to walk. He now uses his bicycle to trek to the most strategic locations to catch a glimpse of the steam locomotives in action.

While there are a handful of roads around Halland, most of it’s citizens have grown up using and becoming intimately familiar with the railroad. It’s a source of employment for many, a vital source of distribution of goods and also the primary form of transportation. It’s therefore no surprise that many of the amateur railroader wannabes can often be seen near or around the tracks. Sometimes a bit too near!

“Oh it’s alright” confides James Ezydoesit. “I’ve had a few close shaves once or twice. I’ve been warned by the management a few more…but no harm comes from it.” James certainly does have a mixed reputation. He’s often seen near the large train yard at Astoria and has on occasion been reprimanded for over-stepping the boundaries of what’s been allowed for safety.

“We try to be as accommodating as we can be,” answered Mr Octan of Halland Railroad, “We know they don’t mean any harm. We just need to make sure that everyone stays safe and that our trains can run on schedule. Everyone depends on us for that.”

Regardless of whom you speak with, trainspotting is certainly a popular activity in Halland. Not just reserved for the enthusiasts, all members of the public regardless of age or gender can often be seen catching a glimpse of the railroad in action.


Adding figures to my layout is often one of the last things I do. I like to compose almost every aspect of the landscape first, such as the buildings, the scenery and even the weathering. When I feel that about 90% of the “look” is done, then I start to add my figures as real people. I ask myself where would they go? Where would they sit? What’s the story here? Sometime I find myself bored after watching breathtaking model railroad videos on Youtube that just show trains go by without any commentary or focus on the town and scene. I realised that the ones that were most interesting, were the ones where you felt a connection to the layout, to the town and to the story. That’s what I hope to do in a small way with Halland and my stories here.

Leave a comment